We know that Coronavirus COVID-19 is causing a lot of worries for people, we aim to provide information, guidance, support and reassurance during this challenging time. CHIVA have developed dedicated information for professionals, parents and young people on COVID-19 and HIV to provide updates on recommendations and evidence as received.

CHIVA Logo

Enhancing the health and social wellbeing of children and young people living with HIV

Governance Structure

CHIVA Trustees

The role of the Trustee Board is to provide strategic vision, direction and leadership to support the financial and operational stability needed to advance the CHIVA and promote its continued development and effectiveness.

50% of the CHIVA Trustee Board are members of the CHIVA Steering Group, maintaining the link with CHIVA members and the governance of the organisation.

Steering Group

The members of the Steering Group are elected by the Charity’s members and serve 3 year terms on the group, with the opportunity for re-election at the end of the term.

The Steering Group supports the Expert Groups which are created by the Trustee Board and/or the Steering Group to consider and provide advice on specialist areas.

Current CHIVA Expert Groups:

  1. Guidelines
  2. Conferences and Meetings
  3. Health Organisation Links
  4. Audits, Commissioning and Standards

CHIVA-Structure-2020.jpg

CHIVA Trustees as of April 2020:

Dr Amanda Williams (Chair): Consultant Paediatrician, London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust  amanda.williams@chiva.org.uk

(Nomination and Remuneration Committee)

Dr Srini BandiConsultant Paediatrician, Leicester Royal Infirmary  srini.bandi@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

Dr Bala Subramaniam: Consultant Paediatrician and Neonatologist, Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust  bala.subramaniam1@nhs.net

Dr Jolanta Bernatoniene: Consultant Paediatrician Paediatric Infectious Disease & Immunology, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children  Jolanta.Bernatoniene@UHBristol.nhs.uk

Sujan Nadarajah: Senior Compliance Executive in Asset Management, TwentyFour Asset Management.  (Finance & Performance Committee)

Prof Ali Judd: Professor of Epidemiology, MRC Clinical Trials Unit. UCL

Pauline Maburutse: Law Graduate, CHIVA support camp volunteer Key Worker

Maraki Caloudis: Senior Medical Advisor, Amicus Therapeutics UK.

Steering Group

Dr Amanda Williams

Dr Bala Subramaniam (Conferences & Meetings group chair)

Dr Srini Bandi (Conferences & Meetings group member)

Dr Jolanta Bernatoniene

Angela Callaghan: HIV Nurse Specialist, Evelina Children's Hospital
angela.callaghan@gstt.nhs.uk (Conferences and Meetings Group member, co-lead Monday night meetings)

Dr Katja Doerholt: Consultant in Paediatric Infectious Diseases, St George's Hospital katja.doerholt@stgeorges.nhs.uk (Commissioning, Audits and Standards Group-Chair & Guidelines group member)

Kate Gandhi: Pharmacist, Birmingham Heartlands Hospital kate.gandhi@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Djamel Hamadache: Independent Paediatric and Adolescent HIV Consultant, (non medical)

Susanna Keiderling: Paediatric Infectious Diseases Clinical Nurse Specialist, St George's Healthcare NHS Trust Susanna.Keiderling@stgeorges.nhs.uk (Guidelines Group-Chair)

Dr Julia Kenny: Consultant in Paediatric Infectious Diseases and Immunology, Evelina London Children’s Hospital Julia.kenny@gstt.nhs.uk (Conferences and Meetings Group member, co lead Monday night meetings)

Prof Tilly Pillay: Consultant Neonatologist, University of Wolverhampton School of Medicine and Clinical Practice.

Dr Fiona Shackley: Consultant Paediatrician, Sheffield Children's Hospital fiona.shackley@sch.nhs.uk